I’ve Started Co-Washing

So, I’m short on time but since I’m going to be trying the co-washing method starting this week, I really want to get this out…

What is Co-Washing?
Co- washing (Conditioner washing) basically means you don’t use shampoo; you wash your hair with conditioner. The practice is highly recommended for people with oily or frizzy hair. Shampoo strips your hair of it’s natural oils- ‘overusing’ shampoo causes your scalp to produce more and more oil. If you find yourself washing your hair every day, stop; the less you use shampoo, the more your scalp will balance out the amount of oil it produces. If you stop using shampoo, your scalp will stop producing so much oil. After co-washing for about a week or two, your scalp should be balanced and producing the right amount of natural oils.

Why I’m Co-Washing
I have very thick, very frizzy, curly hair. Crazy curly; some ringlets and some kinky zig-zags curly. Co-washing promises to reduce the frizz and make my hair super soft. It’s worth a shot. BUT I’m really worried about this whole adjustment period where my hair may become greasy, and since I have to go to work looking well, not greasy, I’m allowing myself to wash when needed. I’ll do my very nest not to need shampoo; but I’m not going greasy. SO, depending on how it goes, it may take me a lot longer to get to total co-washing. and I’m ok with that.

Before Co-Washing
I shampoo every two to three days. Because my hair is so thick and curly, I rinse it on the days I don’t wash (aka, I get it into an acceptable state for work). My hair’s pretty dry and frizzy of course, but it works ok. I use suave products and have continued to do so with the co-washing.

Day Two of Co-Washing
As of right now I’m on day two of co-washing. I shampooed on Monday and it’s now Wednesday evening. My usually routine would call for a shampoo tomorrow, but as of right now I’m not feeling like I really need one.

The trick to co-washing is to really scrub/ wash your hair with the conditioner, and use a lot. If your hair is like mine, it will soak in the conditioner, and in order to really clean your hair, you’ll need a lot of the conditioner for scrubbing.

That’s all I have for now regarding co-washing. Feel free to leave me comments in questions, I’d love to know what you all think!

One thought on “I’ve Started Co-Washing

  1. Pingback: Cheating my Co-Wash | Barely Blue Birds

Leave a Reply

