5 Tips for Cleaning Your Makeup Brushes (and, a review of beautyblender’s beautycleanser)

Since I got beautyblender’s beautycleanser in last month’s Birchbox (which I was super disappointed with, BTW) I thought I’d give it a whirl and give you all a few tips for cleaning your brushes while I’m at it. So,…

1. Wash often.

It doesn’t have to be every week, or even every two weeks, but just know that the cleaner you keep your brushes, the longer they’ll last.

2. Use plenty of the cleaning product.

I don’t recommend you use generic soaps- use something that was made for makeup brushes. They’re not too expensive and can last quite awhile- also, you don’t have to worry about what is or isn’t in the product and for the most part,  you know it’ll work.

I loved using the beautyblender beautycleaner. I was able to thoroughly clean all of my brushes with only a little bit of the product. It lathers well and has a great scent; a clean subtle lavender. It’s just noticeable while you’re using the product and doesn’t linger once the brushes have dried. Also on the upside, it’s a soy-based cleanser, and birchbox claims that not only will the soy “dissolves any dirt and debris trapped in your brushes and sponges” but that the soy is also a natural moisturizer that will work on your skin as you use the brush.

I don’t know that this product made any difference to my skin or even the application of my makeup, but it cleaned my brushes really well with a minimal amount of product. ie. It did it’s job and I like it.

I also REALLY like that the cleanser has a gel consistency to it. It’s not watery, or runny like others I;ve tried, so it lathers easily and it’s not falling off the brush before I get a chance to work it in.

On the right you can see how much of the beautycleanser I used for this brush.

I washed all of these brushes and the bottle is practically still full.

3.  Keep bristles in same direction they’ll dry in.

Theres no need to rough up the bristles in order to get them clean. You can be just as thorough without scrubbing or messing up all the bristles. Use your fingers to gently get the cleaning product evenly lathered and spread throughout the brush. The product will do the rest. If really needed you can gently rub the bristles between your fingers.

No need for excessive scrubbing!

4. It’s ok to lather, rinse AND repeat.

I often have to soap up and rinse more than once. My thicker brushes always need more than one round and if it’s been a while since I’ve washed the brushes, they all need more than one round.

I wash until the rinse is clear. I like my brushes to be THAT clean.

5. Shake out excess water.

Instead of squeezing your brushes to get the excess water out, try shaking it out. A few flicks of the wrists should do it. Squeezing, or excess touching or your clean brushes is unnecessary and can reintroduce oils & debris to your brushes. Your better off just having them air dry for a few hours extra than squeezing.

Extra: To dry your brushes, simply lay them flat and let them air dry. Touch as little as possible, and make sure they’re in a place where there’s little dust or opportunity for dust. I leave them on a towel in the bathroom.

Just lay flat and you’re done!

What are your favorite tricks and tips for washing makeup brushes?

I’m no expert so feel free to leave me feedback or your favorite makeup brush cleaning tips.

*****

For information on makeup brushes, which are the best and why- I highly recommend to you check out Beauty By Krystal as there is A LOT of helpful brush information& reviews on her blog!

Beautyblender beautycleanser is available at Birchbox, Amazon and I’m sure plenty of other places. ($15 for 6 oz. seems to be a decent price for this product- but, if you find it cheaper let me know!)

ALSO, if you know of a better product, send that info my way– I’m always on the lookout for better or more cost-effective products.

2 thoughts on “5 Tips for Cleaning Your Makeup Brushes (and, a review of beautyblender’s beautycleanser)

  1. WOW! That cleaner sounds great, and you have very useful tips here! I personally use the ELF brush shampoo and daily cleaner, they work great for how inexpensive they are. I went a little crazy and stocked up on a few of them 🙂

    • Yea, I was very impressed by the cleanser, it’s one of the best I’ve tried and I really really like the consistency. I’m not gonna lie about wanting to try the ELF shampoo though, especially because of the great price.

Leave a Reply

